Skip to content

Expenditure Ceilings – November 3, 2020


Status of Voluntary Expenditure Ceilings (VECs) in November 3, 2020 Election

Under S.F. Campaign and Governmental Conduct Code 1.128, a candidate who wishes to accept the voluntary expenditure ceiling must file Form SFEC-128 no later than the June 12, 2020 deadline for filing nomination papers.

In a race where at least one candidate has accepted the VEC, all candidates running for office in the same race must file Form SFEC 134(b) within 24 hours of receiving contributions, making expenditures, or having funds that exceed 100 percent of the applicable VEC.

In addition, any person other than a candidate committee who makes or incurs expenditures for the purpose of distributing independent expenditures, electioneering communications, or member communications that clearly identify any candidate that equals or exceeds $1,000 per candidate, must file a report with the Ethics Commission within 24 hours of each time it reaches the $1,000 threshold.

List of Candidates Running for Office in November 2020 who have Accepted the Voluntary Expenditure Ceiling

  • None as of June 12, 2020

Individual Expenditure Ceilings (IECs)

In the November 3, 2020 election, only candidates for the Board of Supervisors who have been certified as eligible to receive public funds are bound by an Individual Expenditure Ceiling (IEC). Each publicly financed Supervisorial candidate’s IEC begins at $350,000 and may be raised in increments of $50,000.

To be eligible to submit an application for public funds, candidates for the Board of Supervisors must file a Statement of Participation or Non-Participation (formerly Form SFEC-142a) by June 12, 2020 (June 19, 2020 – District 1 candidates), indicating an intent to apply for public funds.

Candidates for Board of Supervisors

  • David Lee – District 1
  • Marjan Philhour –  District 1
  • Connie Chan – District 1
  • Aaron Peskin – District 3
  • Danny Sauter – District 3
  • Vallie Brown – District 5
  • Dean Preston – District 5
  • Joel Engardio -District 7
  • Benjamin Matranga – District 7
  • Emily Murase – District 7
  • Myrna Melgar – District 7
  • Vilaska Nguyen – District 7
  • John Avalos – District 11

IEC Levels

We are continuously increasing the number of translated pages on this site. Materials on this website that are not currently translated may be translated upon request. Contact us to provide feedback on this page.

Estamos aumentando continuamente el número de páginas traducidas en este sitio. Los materiales de este sitio web que no están traducidos actualmente pueden traducirse previa solicitud. Contáctenos para proporcionar comentarios sobre esta página o solicitar traducciones.


Patuloy naming dinaragdagan ang bilang ng mga isinalin na pahina sa site na ito. Ang mga materyal sa website na ito na hindi kasalukuyang isinasalin ay maaaring isalin kapag hiniling. Makipag-ugnayan sa amin para magbigay ng feedback sa page na ito o humiling ng mga pagsasalin.